Change the world


Reasons to be Proud - #R2bP: Prof Brenda Scholtz (Department of Computing Sciences) and Prof Lynn Futcher (School of Information Technology) have been appointed as the South African representatives on The International Federation for Information Processing (IFIP).

The IFIP is the leading multinational, apolitical organisation in Information and Communications Technologies and Sciences. It is recognised by the United Nations and other world bodies and represents IT societies from 56 countries/regions, covering five continents with a total membership of over half a million. The Federation links more than 3 500 scientists from academia and industry.

There are 13 technical committees (TCs) with appointed member representatives from countries throughout the world. These reps must be nominated and follow a stringent evaluation and review process before appointment. Only one is selected per country for each technical committee. In South Africa, the Institute of IT Professionals of SA (IITPSA) reviews the nominations and determines the appointments.

Prof Scholtz serves on IFIP TC8 which was established in 1976 as a technical committee dedicated to the field of Information Systems. TC8 aims to promote and encourage the advancement of research and practice of concepts, methods, techniques and issues related to information systems in organisations. She will serve on this committee from 2021 to the end of 2023.

Prof Futcher was appointed for a 3-year term as a specialist member to IFIP TC11, which focuses on Security and Privacy Protection in Information Processing Systems.  Over the past 15 years, she has served as Secretary, Vice-Chair and Chair of IFIP Working Group 11.8, with a specific focus on Information Security Education. This working group comprises an international group of people from academia, military, government and private organisations who volunteer their time and effort into increasing knowledge in the very broad field of information security education. She received the IFIP Silver Core Award for outstanding service in 2014.

Prof Rossouw von Solms, now an Emeritus Professor at the Nelson Mandela University, was re-appointed as the South African representative to TC11, having served for the last twenty years in this position. He also represented South Africa on the IFIP General Assembly for the past six years. He received the IFIP Silver Core Award for outstanding service in 2001.

Prof Janet Wesson of the Computing Sciences Department was re-appointed as the South African representative for TC13 which, among other areas, aims to develop the science and technology of human–computer interaction (HCI) by encouraging empirical research, promoting the use of knowledge and methods from the human sciences in design and evaluation of computer systems. 

Prof Futcher and Prof Scholtz studied together at the former University of Port Elizabeth, having met in the registration queue! After completing their studies, they both went into industry and then returned to academia, graduating with their PhDs together. Eight years later, they have both been appointed to the IFIP.

Prof Lynn Futcher (left) and Prof Brenda Scholtz on the day they graduated with their PhDs

Contact information
Prof Brenda Scholtz

Prof Lynn Futcher
Professor - Department of IT Management and Governance
Tel: 27 41 504 9128