Change the world


Reasons to be Proud - #R2bP: two Mandela University professors have been recognised by the Institute of Information Technology Professionals of South Africa (IITPSA).

Prof Kerry-Lynn Thomson from the School of ICT has been awarded Professional Membership of the Institute and Prof Jean Greyling, HOD of the Department of Computing Sciences, has been made a Fellow.

The title of “Fellow of the Institute” is bestowed only on those members who have made exceptional contributions to the Institute and to the computer industry in South Africa and is awarded by the Board and the body of Past Presidents. A fitting honour to Prof Greyling who has made enormous contributions to this field.

The IITPSA is a professional body, recognised by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) which was established in 1957 and has a long and proud history of service to, and representation of, South Africa’s ICT professionals and practitioners. It attracts a broad and active membership from all levels of the ICT Industry.

Its aims are to further the study, science and application of Information and Communications Technologies; maintain and promote Codes of Conduct and Ethics for members; define and promote standards of ICT knowledge; promote the formulation of effective policies on ICT and related matters; and extend the knowledge and understanding and usage of ICTs in the community. This is achieved by engagement with both Industry and Government on ICT policy, regulations and professional activities, combined with a commitment to the wider community to ensure the beneficial use of ICT.

Professor Lynn Futcher, also of the School of ICT, is the current the Chairperson of the IITPSA Eastern Cape chapter.