Change the world


A FORESTER exploring harvesting machine simulator usage and a human resources practitioner focused on the integration of foreigners into organisations, are among te 28 students who were recognised at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University’s Academic Achiever’s Awards last night.

Kylle Schwegman, a Masters’ Forestry student from George Campus, and Regan Christopher, who is completing an MTech in HR and is presently based in Qatar, were among four students to receive the prestigious Rupert Family Trust bursary. The R60 000-a-year postgraduate award is only made to exceptional students – those who achieve a distinction for their masters and are researching topics deemed worthy by the family.

The other recipients of the bursary are Kholisa Papu, a Masters’ in Education student, and Alexander MacFarlane, a Mechantronics’ Masters’ student.

The University acknowledged academic achievers in each faculty – those who had scored the top marks overall for their diplomas and degrees, as well as those completing their postgraduate qualifications. Apart from receiving a framed certificate and merit award, they also signed the Honours Roll after being congratulated by senior NMMU staff, including Vice-Chancellor Prof Derrick Swartz and Chair of Council, Judge Ronnie Pillay at the function in the Tramways Building in Central.

Prof Swartz welcomed the recipients, their families, academic staff and other guests highlighting the “uncertain journey” that the academic achievers need to embrace “like explorers and pathfinders” in an ever-changing world.

“This revolution is unmatched. We have to rethink the way in which we live and work in the world,” he said, with reference to the Digital Revolution that would witness the possibility of machines taking over from humans.

“We’re going into an uncertain world. But my message to you, as you enter this voyage of discovery, is to drive yourself as explorers and pathfinders … even into systems that do not yet exist.”

The winners of the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Academic Excellence are:

  • Anrich Bosch as the best first diplomate (Logistics Management)
  • Amy-Rose Westcott as best first degree BSc Computer Science
  • Yolande Oosthysen as the best postgraduate in the social sciences and humanities, who is completing a BA Honours in Psychology
  • Kylle Schwegman as the best postgraduate in Science Engineering and Technology, who I doing his MSc: Forestry.

BRAINS TRUST … Winners of the prestigious Rupert Family Trust bursary valued at R60 000 a year, are (from left) Kylle Schwegman, Alexander MacFarlane, Kholisa Papu and Regan Christopher.

TOP ACHIEVERS … The winners of the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Academic Excellence are (from left) Yolande Oosthuysen, Kylle Schwegman, Anrich Bosch and Amy-Rose Westcott.  

Contact information
Mrs Debbie Derry
Deputy Director: Communication
Tel: 041 504 3057